top of page
Search

Celebrate Black Histories



I believe that Black histories should be highlighted throughout the school year within in different content areas and in read alouds. Although February is set aside for us to talk about Black History, it should not be kept there.


In my classroom, we talk about Black people and culture quite a bit! We read about the struggles and triumphs of Black people, and their contributions to Science, Math, Literature, History, and more.


Because we talk about a lot of Black histories before Black History Month arrives, I like to take the time to celebrate in February! I either choose a theme or a handful of Black historical figures to highlight. I find a variety of resources to bring into the classroom to share with my students as we celebrate a different person each day throughout the month of February.


I would love for you to celebrate Black Histories during the month of February with us! You can do so by heading to my Teachers Pay Teachers page and purchasing and downloading my Celebrate Black Histories slides. These slides will give you 21 people to celebrate with your students. Each person featured comes with a photo, short paragraph of information, the title of the picture book where you can get more information, and suggested activities to do with or assign to your students. Whether you are teaching virtually or in-person, this is a great resource to share with your students!


I cannot wait to celebrate these Black histories with you and your students!


HAPPY TEACHING! ❤

646 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page